Skip to content


UPCA Barcode


The UPC A code is the standard version of the UPC code and has 12 digits. It is also called UPC 12 and is very similar to the EAN code.

The structure of the UPC A code is as follows:

  • The first digit of the UPC A code says what the code contains:
    • 0 – normal UPC Code
    • 1 – reserved
    • 2 – articles where the price varies by the weight: for example meat. The code is produced in the store and attached to the article.
    • 3 – National Drug Code (NDC) and National Health Related Items Code (HRI).
    • 4 – UPC Code which can be used without format limits
    • 5 – coupon
    • 6 – normal UPC Code
    • 7 – normal UPC Code
    • 8 – reserved
    • 9 – reserved
  • The first 6,7,8,9, or 10 digits are the prefix number. This number is issued by the GS1-US (Global Solutions 1). The amount of digits is determined by how many UPC Numbers are needed, 10, 100, 1000, 10000, or 100,000
  • The seventh to eleventh digits show the individual UPC numbers issued by the owner of the prefix.
  • The last digit is the check digit.

The UPC E code is a short version with 8 digits, always starting with a zero. The UPC code is a numeric code which is able to display digits from 0-9. Each character consists of two lines and two spaces.